Launched last week by two young British entrepreneurs, tribewanted is creating a global tribe that will develop a sustainable eco-community on an island in Fiji.
In what seems like a hippie dream crossed with an episode of Survivor, tribewanted is looking for 5000 people from around the world to become part of a tribe that will not only exist online, but will also settle, 100 at a time, on ”Adventure Island”. On the map, Adventure Island is known as Vorovoro, and is being leased to tribewanted by the local tribal chief.
When the 5000th member joins, the tribe will be formed and will start to make tribal decisions by voting through the online community at tribewanted.com, on issues such as the name of the tribe, type of infrastructure that will be required, and how to build an island community in an environmentally friendly way.
Eco-friendliness is a keystone, and tribewanted has appointed a climate advisor to keep carbon accounts for the tribe’s island life and offset them to make the venture climate neutral. In an interview with Mookychick, founding ”chief” Mark James explains: “I think that there is a growing interest from a generation to do something about their lives, the lives of those around them and to have a positive impact on the environment as they are aware of how generations before have messed up. Adventure Island represents all the passions and cravings of that generation.”



June 29th, 2006 at 09:59
Surely it’s just a web-based scam?
July 13th, 2006 at 10:00
Hi
check out… http://www.travellerspoint.com/forum.cfm?thread=21915
tribewanted is a scam, a big scam. Mark James (AKA mark bowness) is a con man and a scammer. do not trust him.
July 17th, 2006 at 13:48
This post has gotten more attention than any other. It seems there are some dubious rumors about this group, so proceed with caution. I do not know any more than what is posted on their website.
July 19th, 2006 at 06:26
The “money back guarantee” they offer if the project folds will be no help if the money has already been spent. Lets see – 5000 members wanted at at least £125 a head: £625,000. Quite a little nest egg for the two main “founding facilitators” should the scheme never see the light of day. Given that one of the “founding facilitators” has already changed his name (compare “Mark James” with “Mark Bowness” – Google can help – another poster here has commented on that), it seems possible that the money could conceivably disappear without trace.
On the other hand, even if this is a scam, the “investors” should not lose too much. Right?
Who knows, maybe it will work. But the only people who seem to confirm that the “founding facilitators” have integrity and a proven track record are – guess who? – the “founding facilitators”.
Hmm…
August 11th, 2006 at 09:05
read the post on this website http://guinpoker.blogspot.com/2005/12/holidays-tough-to-find-time.html
odd how Extreme Global Adventure had interest from Richard Branson, the same as with Tribewanted?! I wonder if Richard Branson really knows anything about this.
the thing I like about the post on this website is that it is typical ‘Mark Bowness’ / ‘Mark James’, whatever he wants to call himself. He is just out to CON and scam anyone. Shame because it seems like the rest of tribewanted sort of seem genuine!!
btw, funny but since alot of this stuff has been on the web. Mark James is disappeared from the map?
Anyone know why?
January 9th, 2007 at 12:55
I’ve been to the Island where Tribe Wanted is based. It’s a beautiful island, heaps of sun,nice white sandy beach. I’ve met up with some of the Tribe members during New Years Eve, and they said that they really enjoyed staying at the island. They like the beach, the isolation. I’ve got pics of the whole area, their fijian bures(houses), dining area, kitchen, and a whole lot more. Vorovoro Island is the place to be.
January 21st, 2007 at 13:40
Good on ya! I bet the island is great, but I have heard it is even better without Mark James, or is it bowness now? I’ve heard he was calling himself all sorts of names and posting stuff on the internet – old tricks eh mark! I bet your emailing people under the alias of all sorts of names! lol! I’ve seen the pics and the island looks great. I hope it works for you Ben.
What about this dream foundation? Mark, don’t CON people like you have conned so many others.